Musée de Charmey
The museum traces the cultural and social history of the Charmey area, a major centre of Gruyère AOP fabrication and traditions.
Charmey was for many centuries, and up until the French Revolution, the production centre of Gruyère AOP. In the old days, cheese was made in summer in the mountains and was then exported to France. Lyon market and the French Navy were the main clients.
The Carthusian monks settled in La Valsainte above Cerniat in 1294. For over 700 years, their history has been closely linked to that of Charmey. The Valsainte room at the museum enables visitors to discover their world, their spirituality and their everyday life. Since 1976 it is no longer possible to visit the La Valsainte monastery.