To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Hans-Ruedi Giger

1940-2014. Plastician, designer, illustrator, sculptor, graphic artist, Hans-Ruedi Giger captivates different generation of fans with pictures, sculptures of fantasy realism. He fall in love with FRIBOURG REGION and the only museum of HR Giger works in the world is located in the middle age city of Gruyères. 250 works, essentially pictures and sculptures are exposed permanently there. The museum offers as well temporary exhibitions from other creators.

The celebrity of H.R. Giger comes from the famous film Alien. He is the designer of the Alien Monster and he won the Oscar in 1980. H.R. Giger is considerated as one of the most well-known artist of the fantasy realism.

Born in 1940 in Chur, H.R. Giger is already, as a young boy, interested in fantastic and morbid creations. His resourceful imagination guides him to study architecture and industrial design in Zürich.

Later, he realised different documentaries and puted down his mutant and nightmares creatures which are made of flesh and mechanic parts. This sort of art, known as “Biomecanic” will simultaneously fascinate and insecure the public.

The Birth of „Alien“
The painter realises his phantasmagoria often with grey, blue and black colors on big screens. In the year 1976, his book “Necronomicon” steered the attention of the American cineaste Ridley Scott. It became “Alien”.

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

Hans-Ruedi Giger

1940-2014. Grafiker, Illustrator, Bildhauer, Designer und vorallem Wahl-Freiburger, Hans-Ruedi Giger verzaubert verschiedene Generationen mit Gemälde und Bildhauereien des Fantasie-Realismus. Das einzige HR-Museum der Welt befindet sich im mittelalterlichen Städtchen von Gruyères. 250 Werke, hauptsächlich Gemälde und Bildhauereien, sind dort permanent ausgestellt.

Die Berühmtheit von H.R. Giger kommt wesentlich von dem Film Alien. Er hat für diesen Film die Monster hergestellt und ein Oscar im Jahre 1980 bekommen. H.R. Giger wird als einer der markantesten Künstler des Fantasie-Realismus betrachtet.

Am 5. Februar 1940 in Chur geboren, hat sich H.R. Giger schon sehr früh für diese Kreationen begeistert. Seine erfindungsreiche Phantasie wenden ihm um Architektur und industrielles Zeichnen in Zürich zu studieren.

Später realisierte er verschiedene Kurzkulturfilme. Bald liegen auf dem Papier seine mutierende und albtraumhaftende Kreaturen die Fleisch und mechanischen Teile verbinden. Diese Art von Kunst wird das Publikum gleichzeitig faszinieren und verunsichern.

Die Geburt von „Alien“
Der Maler inszeniert seine Phantasmagorien oft in grauen, blauen oder schwarzen Farbstufen auf grossen Gemälden. Im Jahre 1976 lenkte sein Buch „Necronomicon“ die Aufmerksamkeit vom amerikanischen Cineast Ridley Scott. „Alien” ist geboren.

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren