1. Orchestrion (1913)

The only example of its kind in the world, the Soléa is an orchestrion (mechanical orchestra) built in 1913 for the café-restaurant Le Fribourgeois by the firm Weber in Waldkirch (Germany). Demonstration on request.

The café Le Fribourgeois was designed according to plans drawn up in 1898-1899 by the architect Frédéric Broillet.

The Le Solea orchestrion was built in Waldkirch (Germany) at the Weber Frères factory. It was sold and installed in Le Fribourgeois in 1913-1914 by the firm Charrière & Cie, from Bulle, which represented various manufacturers of harmoniums, player-pianos and orchestrions in the canton. The instrument was restored in 1977–78 by Les Frères Baud in L’Auberson.

The oak cabinet measuring 4 metres long, 2.50 metres high and 1.10 metres wide houses a 52-note Feurich piano, 4 sets of 28 pipes – flutes, violin, baritone and “Gedeck”, a 28-note xylophone, a bass drum, a side drum, a tambourine, a triangle and castanets. In the bottom section, three pairs of bellows activated by an electric motor inflate two regulator reservoirs that supply the windchests. Rolls of perforated paper 36 cm wide, driven by a guide roller, are held against a metal bar commonly known as a “flat flute” with 88 apertures, each corresponding to a note or a function.

A lead pipe connects each aperture to a pneumatic relay controlling a valve that releases air into the pipes, activates or triggers the sets, controls the hammer bellows or displaces the shutters that modify the sound volume. The instrument is completed by two animated windows depicting local Gruyère landscapes: on the right, a parade crossing the Javroz iron bridge in Charmey against a sky criss-crossed by aircraft; on the left, a beautiful sunrise and sunset over the town of Gruyères.

Following the removal of orchestrions from the Le Tivoli café in Bulle and the Le Gothard café in Fribourg, the instrument is to our knowledge the last of its kind conserved in a public establishment in the canton of Fribourg. It is also probably one of the last in working order still to be found in its place of origin in Switzerland.

© Musée gruérien and Cultural Heritage Department of the canton of Fribourg
plan
Satellite

---

---

min.-°Cmax.-°C

Weather forecastfor
---
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

1. Orchestrion (1913)


1630 Bulle

Solea heisst das 1913 von der Firma Weber in Waldkirch (Deutschland) für das Café-Restaurant Le Fribourgeois erbaute Orchestrion (mechanisches Orchester), das weltweit einzige seiner Art. Vorführung auf Anfrage.

Das Café Le Fribourgeois entstand nach einem Entwurf des Architekten Frédéric Broillet von 1898-1899.

Das Orchestrion Le Solea wurde in der Fabrik der Gebrüder Weber in Waldkirch (D) gebaut. Nach seinem Verkauf stellte die Firma Charrière & Cie es 1913-1914 in Bulle im Café Le Fribourgeois auf. Die Firma vertrat Harmoniumbauer und Fabrikanten mechanischer Klaviere und Orchestrien. 1977-78 wurde das Instrument von den Frères Baud in L’Auberson restauriert.

Das 4 m breite, 2,50 m hohe und 1,10 m tiefe Eichengehäuse birgt ein Feurich-Piano mit 52 Tasten, 4 Register mit 28 Pfeifen – Flöten, Geige, Bariton und „Gedeck“, ein Xylophon mit 28 Klangstäben, eine grosse Pauke, eine Trommel, ein Tambourin, einen Triangel und Kastagnetten. Im unteren Teil füllen drei von einem Elektromotor betätigte Blasebälge zwei Magazinbälge, welche die Windladen versorgen. Gelochte Papierrollen von 36 cm Breite werden von einer Druckrolle angetrieben und auf eine im Allgemeinen als „Planflöte“ bezeichnete Metallstange gepresst, deren 88 Löcher jeweils einer Note oder einer Funktion entsprechen.

Ein Bleirohr verbindet jedes der Löcher mit einem pneumatischen Schaltrelais. Dieses steuert ein Zellenventil, das Luft in die Rohre entweichen lässt, die Register aktiviert oder auslöst, die Hammerbälge steuert oder die Klappen verschiebt, mit denen die Lautstärke reguliert wird. Auf den beiden Glasfenstern des Instruments sind Landschaften von La Gruyère abgebildet: rechts sieht man einen Umzug auf der Metallbrücke von Javroz in Charmey unter einem Himmel, auf dem Luftschiffe kreuzen, und links sind ein Sonnenaufgang und ein Sonnenuntergang über der Stadt Gruyères zu bewundern.

Nachdem die Orchestrien der Cafés Tivoli in Bulle und Gothard in Freiburg verschwunden sind, ist das Instrument in Bulle unseres Wissens das letzte noch erhaltene seiner Art in einem öffentlichen Freiburger Lokal. Es dürfte auch eines der letzten in der ganzen Schweiz sein, das bis heute an seinem ursprünglichen Standort in Betrieb ist.

© Musée Gruérien und Amt für Kulturgüter des Kantons Freiburg

Legende der Archivphotos: Diese Fotografie wurde 1913 im Café Le Fribourgeois auf Bestellung der Firma Charrière et Cie aufgenommen. Sie zeigt die erste, kleinere Version des Orchestrions, die kurz danach durch das aktuelle Instrument ersetzt wurde.
© Alfred Husser, Musée Gruérien, Bulle.


1630 Bulle

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren