7. Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781)

This statue by the sculptor Carl Angst inaugurated in 1933 represents Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781), from La Tour-de-Trême, who headed a popular revolt against the patrician government of Fribourg in 1781.

Just opposite the castle is one of the town’s thirty or more fountains. It is overlooked by a statue. Its subject, a man with a determined air, his fist raised in a sign of defiance, is Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux, one of the historical personalities of the La Gruyère region. Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux was born in 1740 into a well-off farming family in La Tour-de-Trême. An enterprising young man, he devoted his early years unsuccessfully to business (property, cheese, grain, mining and livestock breeding). Disappointed in his military ambitions too, he fared better at politics. His outspokenness and virulent criticisms ensured him undeniable popularity among the population.

Origins of the revolt
From 1780 to 1784, in the wake of economic, political and religious problems, the canton of Fribourg lived through a troubled period, the most spectacular manifestation of which was the Chenaux uprising (also known as the “Chenaux Revolution”) in 1781.

Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux and his followers took issue with the oligarchic government of Fribourg for revoking around thirty religious festivals, abolishing the convent of La Valsainte and planning the introduction of new taxes. Chenaux promised his accomplices that their debts would be wiped out, that an agrarian law would be passed, and that farmers would be granted free ownership of the land they held under lease.

Thus it was that on 29 April 1781, Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux headed a small band of men under the command of officers. Gathered in Bulle at the Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée (today the Hôtel du Cheval Blanc), Chenaux plotted a revolt and planned to take Fribourg by surprise. The date chosen was initially Saint-Jean (24 June), later brought forward to the festival of 3 May. However the Fribourg government, already alerted by similar cases elsewhere, was prepared. Forewarned of the plot, it ordered the arrest of Chenaux; however the latter, assisted by his informers, managed to escape the government’s clutches.

At the heart of the uprising
On 1st May 1781, Chenaux heard that Fribourg had put a price on his head. Instead of hiding or running away, he took the initiative, harangued the population and, on 2 May, made his way to the Fribourg capital. On 3 May the gates of the town stayed closed and bargaining took place; the assailants took this opportunity to rally two to three thousand country folk to their cause, while the besieged population started to panic and sent word to Bern for assistance. Fearing that the Fribourg uprising would give ideas to their French-speaking bailiffs, the authorities in Bern lost no time in sending their troops to assist their neighbour. Fribourg was therefore well prepared to face poorly armed and insufficiently organised farmers.

On 4 May 1781, the native of Vaud Benjamin Louis Monod de Froideville, a former Prussian officer in command of government troops, easily obtained the surrender of several hundred men. During the night of 4/5 May, after retreating to a wooded area, Chenaux was seized by one of his own men, tempted by the large reward promised for his capture. A fight broke out, as a result of which Chenaux was killed. His body was taken to the town of Fribourg, where he was publicly decapitated and dismembered.

Shortly afterwards, the people flocked to his grave and declared him “Saint Nicolas Chenaux, Martyr of Freedom”. This somewhat rapid and spontaneous canonisation provoked the ire of the Church and was sharply condemned. Moreover, government repression against the rebels became extremely severe; prison sentences, orders to be sent to the galleys, banishments and fines were the lot of most insurgents.

At a political level the Fribourg authorities, encouraged by Bern, Lucerne and Soleure, opted for appeasement. Parishes and communities were invited to express their wishes in writing. None of the proposals emanating from the countryside contested the institution of the patriciate per se, but some requested a lightening of the tax burden and restoration of the recently abolished religious festivals and processions. However, the common bourgeoisie of the capital, through clever and insistent manoeuvrings, made it known that it aspired to an improved distribution of power with the privileged bourgeoisie. The conflict intensified; it came to a head in 1783 with the forced exile of their main representatives. The latter therefore joined survivors of the call to arms of 1781 abroad. Some welcomed the French Revolution of 1789 and returned to the country in 1798.

A victim of the infamous procedure of “damnatio memoriae” (banishment from memory), recollections of Chenaux gradually faded. It was not until 1848 that the radical political wing rehabilitated him officially. In 1933, this monumental statue was erected in Bulle, on the Market Square, in honour of the “Defender of the people’s freedoms”.

The day after Chenaux’s death, to bolster its repression, the Fribourg government ordered the sign of the Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée, the former headquarters of Chenaux, to be taken down and burnt on the public square, in order to discourage once and for all the most virulent enemies of Fribourg. Even though its visible manifestation disappeared, the ideology and spirit of opposition remained. And it did not stop the inhabitants of Bulle from reopening the establishment under a new name, the Cheval-Blanc, nor from adorning the new sign with a sword crowned with laurel leaves pointing towards Fribourg, in memory of the events of 1781.

Many of Chenaux’s allies exiled in France continued to oppose the Ancien Régime in their capacity as members of the Club Helvétique in Paris (1790-1791). One of the aims of that society, namely to carry revolution to the Swiss cantons, was successful in 1798 with the invasion of the country by the French Army and the creation of a Swiss Republic founded on the new ideals of individual freedom and equality, centralised on the French model.

© Musée gruérien

Carl Albert Angst
Carl Albert Angst (1875-1965), from Geneva, was the son of a cabinetmaker. He was a skilled engraver and sculptor of wood (including Art Nouveau furniture) in Paris from 1896 to 1911, firstly with Jean-Auguste Dampt and then as a self-employed tradesman from 1903. Throughout this time he drew and sculpted, mainly portraits of children. He won a prize for a planned Swiss national monument on the theme “The Age of Heroes” in 1909. A teacher at the School of Industrial Arts of Geneva (1911-1913) and a member of the Federal Commission of Fine Arts (1916-1918, 1927-1930), he produced sculptures for public squares, as well as busts and medallions (Barthélemy Menn, Ferdinand Hodler), the frame of the station clock in Lausanne, and the symbol of Justice for the frontispiece of the Federal Court and three of its portal adornments. Carl Albert Angst sometimes drew inspiration from Greek and Egyptian art. He was influenced greatly by Auguste Rodin, with whom he shared a taste for psychological symbols and allusions. A large number of his works disappeared when a warehouse owned by the Museum of Art and History in Geneva caught fire in 1987.

© Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse

Find out more
Georges Andrey, “Le monument Chenaux, la fête, le symbole”, in La Fête, Cahiers du Musée gruérien, n°1, 1997.
Georges Andrey, “La révolution Chenaux”, in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.
Alain-Jacques Tornare, “Révolution française et Contre-révolution. Impacts en Gruyère (1781-1815)”, in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.

Also of interest
The sign of the Hôtel du Cheval Blanc, formerly the Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée, the headquarters of Chenaux.
Models of the statue and the “urn containing the skull of Nicolas Chenaux”, in the section “Contours in motion” of the permanent exhibition La Gruyère, footprints and detours, at the Musée gruérien.




Weather forecastfor

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

7. Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781)


1630 Bulle

Die vom Bildhauer Carl Angst geschaffene Statue wurde 1933 eingeweiht. Sie stellt Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781) von La Tour-de-Trême dar, den Anführer des Volksaufstands von 1781 gegen die Freiburger Patrizierregierung.

Direkt gegenüber dem Schloss befindet sich einer der insgesamt etwa dreissig Brunnen der Stadt. Auf dem Brunnen steht eine Statue. Der Mann mit dem entschlossenen Blick und der herausfordernd erhobenen Faust ist Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux, eine der historischen Persönlichkeiten aus La Gruyère. Er wurde 1740 als Sohn einer wohlhabenden Bauernfamilie in La Tour-de-Trême geboren. Nachdem verschiedene Versuche als Unternehmer (Immobilien, Käse, Getreide, Bergwerk und Viehzucht) missglückt waren und seine Militärkarriere ebenfalls enttäuschend verlief, war er in der Politik erfolgreicher. Mit seiner Offenheit und seiner scharfen Kritik gewann er bei der Bevölkerung bald grosse Popularität.

Die Ursprünge des Aufstands
Wirtschaftliche, politische und religiöse Probleme stürzen den Kanton Freiburg von 1780 bis 1784 in eine turbulente Phase, die mit dem Chenaux-Aufstand (auch „Chenaux-Revolution“) ihren Höhepunkt erreicht.

Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux und seine Partisanen machen der oligarchischen Freiburger Regierung zum Vorwurf, dass sie etwa dreissig religiöse Feste abgeschafft und das Kloster Valsainte aufgehoben hat und neue Steuern einzuführen plant. Chenaux verspricht seinen Anhängern, er werde dafür sorgen, dass sie von ihren Schulden befreit werden, dass ein Agrargesetz erlassen werde und die Landwirte in den freien Besitz des von ihnen gepachteten Bodens gelangen werden.

Am 29. April 1781 hat Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux als Anführer eine kleine, von Offizieren flankierte Gruppe von Männern versammelt. In der Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée in Bulle (heute Hôtel du Cheval Blanc) plant Chenaux mit ihnen einen Aufstand. Sie wollen Freiburg mit einem Überraschungsangriff einnehmen. Als Datum für ihr Vorhaben legen sie zuerst den St. Johannes-Tag (24. Juni) fest, dann den Markttag vom 3. Mai. Doch die Freiburger Regierung ist wegen ähnlicher Vorfälle wachsam geworden. Als sie vom Projekt Chenaux’ erfährt, ordnet sie dessen Verhaftung an. Der von seinen Informanten gewarnte Chenaux kann sich jedoch entziehen.

Im Kern des Aufstands
Am 1. Mai 1781 erfährt Chenaux, dass Freiburg ein Kopfgeld auf ihn ausgesetzt hat. Weit davon entfernt, sich zu verstecken oder zu fliehen, ergreift er die Initiative: Er wendet sich in einer leidenschaftlichen Ansprache an die Bevölkerung und bricht nach Freiburg auf. Als am 3. Mai die Freiburger Stadttore verschlossen bleiben, werden Verhandlungen aufgenommen. Die Angreifer nutzen die Pause, um zwei- bis dreitausend herbeigeeilte Landbewohner als Verbündete zu gewinnen. Unterdessen geraten die Belagerten in Panik und rufen Bern um Hilfe an. Aus Angst, der Freiburger Aufstand könnte ihre Untertanen in der Romandie auf dumme Gedanken bringen, entsendet die Berner Obrigkeit unverzüglich Truppen, um den Nachbarn beizustehen. Damit ist Freiburg für den Empfang schlecht bewaffneter und ungenügend organisierter Bauern gerüstet.

Am 4. Mai 1781 erreicht der Waadtländer Benjamin Louis Monod de Froideville, ehemaliger Offizier in preussischen Diensten und Leiter der Regierungstruppen, mühelos die Kapitulation von einigen Hundert Männern. Chenaux, der sich in einen Wald zurückgezogen hat, wird in der Nacht vom 4. auf den 5. Mai von einem seiner Leute für die hohe Belohnung verraten, die für seine Auslieferung ausgesetzt ist. Als seine Häscher ihn stellen, entwickelt sich ein Zweikampf, in dem er sein Leben verliert. Sein Leichnam wird in die Stadt Freiburg gebracht, wo er öffentlich geköpft und zerstückelt wird.

Die Folgen
Schon wenig später versammelt sich das Volk um sein Grab und beschwört den „Heiligen Nicolas Chenaux, den Märtyrer der Freiheit“. Diese recht schnelle und spontane Heiligsprechung provoziert den Zorn der Kirche und wird streng verurteilt. Gleichzeitig werden auch die Repressionen der Regierung äusserst scharf; die meisten Aufständischen werden zu Gefängnisstrafen und zum Galeerendienst verurteilt, verbannt oder mit Bussgeldern belegt.

Nun versuchen die Freiburger Behörden, von Bern, Luzern und Solothurn in diese Richtung ermutigt, auf politischem Weg zu schlichten. Die Pfarreien und Gemeinden werden eingeladen, ihre Wünsche schriftlich vorzutragen. Von den ländlichen Gemeinden stellt niemand die Institution des Patriziats in Frage, aber mehrere beantragen Steuererleichterungen und die Wiedereinführung der unlängst abgeschafften religiösen Feste und Prozessionen. Die gemeinen Bürger der Hauptstadt geben dagegen mit geschickten und hartnäckigen Interventionen zu verstehen, dass sie nach einer gerechteren Aufteilung der Macht zwischen sich und dem privilegierten Bürgertum streben. Der Konflikt spitzt sich zu und endet 1783 mit dem erzwungenen Exil seiner wichtigsten Vertreter. Diese schliessen sich im Ausland wieder mit den Überlebenden des Aufstands von 1781 zusammen. Sie alle werden 1789 die französische Revolution begrüssen und 1798 nach Hause zurückkehren.

Die Erinnerung an Chenaux, der zu einem Opfer der entehrenden „damnatio memoriae“ (Verbannung des Andenkens) wird, verblasst mehr und mehr. Erst im Jahr 1848 wird er von der radikalen Regierung rehabilitiert. 1933 wird auf der Place du Marché in Bulle zu Ehren des „Verteidigers der Freiheiten des Volkes“ diese monumentale Statue aufgestellt.

Am Tag nach Chenaux’ Tod und um seine Niederlage zu bekräftigen, befiehlt die Freiburger Regierung, das Wirtshausschild des Épée Couronnée, des ehemaligen Hauptquartiers von Chenaux, abzunehmen und auf dem öffentlichen Platz zu verbrennen, um die gefährlichsten Feinde der Freiburger Patrizier endgültig zu entmutigen. Doch auch mit der Zerstörung des Schilds lassen sich die aufständische Ideologie und Gesinnung nicht ausmerzen, noch hindert sie die Einwohner von Bulle daran, das Haus unter dem Namen Cheval-Blanc wieder zu eröffnen und im neuen Schild zum Andenken an die Ereignisse von 1781 ein von Lorbeeren gekröntes Schwert („épée couronnée“) einzufügen, das in Richtung Freiburg zeigt.

Im französischen Exil setzen viele Verbündete Chenaux’ die Anfechtung des Ancien Régime im Club Helvétique in Paris (1790-1791) fort. Eines der Ziele dieser Gesellschaft, der Import der Revolution in die Schweizer Kantone, wird 1798 erreicht, als französische Truppen einmarschieren und eine Helvetische Republik ausgerufen wird, die auf den neuen Idealen der individuellen Freiheit und der Gleichheit nach französischem Vorbild beruht.

© Musée Gruérien

Carl Albert Angst
Carl Albert Angst (1875-1965) von Genf ist der Sohn eines Möbelschreiners. 1896-1911 arbeitet er in Paris als Bildhauer und Holzschnitzer (u.a. Jugendstilmöbel), zunächst bei Jean-Auguste Dampt, ab 1903 selbständig: Zeichnungen und Plastiken, insbesondere Kinderbildnisse. 1909 erhält er einen Preis für den Entwurf zu einem schweizerischen Nationaldenkmal zum Thema Heldenzeitalter. 1911-13 Professor an der Ecole des Arts Industriels in Genf. 1916-18 und 1927-30 Mitglied der Eidgenössischen Kunstkommission. Skulpturen für öffentliche Plätze, Bildnisbüsten und Medaillons (Barthélemy Menn, Ferdinand Hodler), Umrahmung der Bahnhofsuhr Lausanne, Giebelfigur "La Justice" und drei Portalkrönungen am Bundesgericht. Carl Albert Angst orientierte sich zuweilen an der griechischen und ägyptischen Kunst. Er war stark von seinem Vorbild Auguste Rodin beeinflusst, dessen symbolhafte und psychologisierende Momente stets präsent blieben. 1987 verbrannten zahlreiche seiner Werke im Depot des Museum für Kunst und Geschichte in Genf.

© Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz

Literatur
Georges Andrey, «Le monument Chenaux, la fête, le symbole», in La Fête, Cahiers du Musée gruérien, n°1, 1997.
Georges Andrey, «La révolution Chenaux», in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.
Alain-Jacques Tornare, «Révolution française et Contre-révolution. Impacts en Gruyère (1781-1815)», in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.

Ebenfalls interessant
Das Wirtshausschild des Hôtel du Cheval Blanc, früher Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée, Chenaux’ Hauptquartier.
Modelle der Statue und die „Urne mit dem Schädel von Nicolas Chenaux“ im Sektor „Des contours en mouvement“ der Dauerausstellung La Gruyère, Wege und Spuren, im Musée Gruérien.

Legende der Archivphotos:
Einweihung des Denkmals von Chenaux, 1933. Links mit Melone Jean-Marie Musy, von 1919 bis 1934 erster Freiburger Bundesrat.
© Foto Glasson, Musée Gruérien


1630 Bulle

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren