10. Notre-Dame de Compassion (1688)

Destination of many pilgrims in the 17th and 18th centuries, the Church of Notre-Dame de Compassion was founded in 1350 and converted in 1688-1692. It was served by Capuchin monks from 1665 to 2004.

From 1350, Bulle boasted a hospital which offered refuge to the sick, the poor, orphans and travellers. The hospital was located on the same site as the monastery. On 26 and 27 August 1447, a fire laid waste to the town, from the hospital to the church which stood on the same spot as today. A good part of the town was rebuilt in 1454. A new hospital and a new church were erected.

The 29th June 1665 saw the arrival of the first three Capuchin monks: a superior, a father and a brother. They took up residence in the rooms of the hospital, which was replaced between 1671 and 1679 by a monastery. The hospital was relocated to a building situated near the Porte d’Enhaut. In 1679, the Fribourg government officially gave permission for the Capuchin monks to remain in Bulle. The church was enlarged in 1688. It was attended by the Capuchins, who also served the community by taking in the poor. In the entrance, under the Heimatstil porch (1909) visitors can admire a magnificent sculpted gate which also dates from 1688.

In 1692 the sculptor from Bulle Pierre Ardieu (1649-1735), with his collaborators, finished the Baroque style main altar, which includes a multitude of statues surrounding the Blessed Virgin. A century later, another artist from the region, Joseph Deillon (1727-1795), modified and added to the work of Ardieu. Over the centuries, successive occupants (burghers, parishioners and Capuchin monks) maintained the church, which underwent different conversions as the need arose. The stained-glass windows of the choir are by Jean-Edward de Castella (1924) and those in the nave are by Yoki (1965 and 1984).

The monastery of the Capuchin Fathers and the Church of Notre Dame de Compassion were an important destination for pilgrims in the second half of the 17th century and throughout the 18th century, and this contributed greatly to development of the local economy. Pilgrims flocked from all corners of French-speaking Switzerland, Savoy and Franche-Comté. On important religious days and during some festivals, as many as 1800 pilgrims would be present. Crowds were so great that services were established for different orders.

In response to prayers answered, pilgrims made votive offerings, namely small pictures covering the walls of the nave. All of the pilgrims needed to eat, drink and sleep, and take back souvenirs, and shopkeepers made the most of this: in 1722, there were eight inns and wine-sellers, as well as around fifteen shops situated opposite the church and around the castle moat.

While their order had been present in Bulle for more than three centuries, the last Capuchins left the monastery in 2004 due to recruitment difficulties. Since Capuchin monks may not own property, in the 20th century the nave of the church became the property of the parish of Bulle, while ownership of the choir of the church, and the inner choir reserved for “private” prayer by devotees, passed to the Holy See (Vatican), and the monastic part to the State of Fribourg. In 2007, the State of Fribourg ceded its title to the parish. The Vatican did likewise in 2010. The monastery’s’ important library joined the collection of the Cantonal and University Library of Fribourg. Numerous objects saved from the monastery are held by the Musée gruérien.

© Musée gruérien and Cultural Heritage Department of the canton of Fribourg

Also of interest
The church, its altar and votive offerings attached to the walls of the sanctuary.
Statue of the Blessed Virgin, collection of votive offerings and book of miracles from the church in the section “A living town” of the Musée gruérien.

Find out more
Ivan Andrey, Fin de chapitre, Bulle, 2004 (introduction).
Jean Dubas, Notre-Dame de Compassion, un pèlerinage à Bulle, Bulle, 1984.
plan
Satellite

---

---

min.-°Cmax.-°C

Weather forecastfor
---
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

10. Notre-Dame de Compassion (1688)


1630 Bulle

Die Kapelle von Notre-Dame de Compassion, im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert ein sehr beliebtes Wallfahrtsziel, wurde 1350 gegründet und 1688-1692 umgebaut. Von 1665 bis 2004 wurde sie von Kapuzinermönchen seelsorgerisch betreut.

Ab 1350 gibt es in Bulle ein Spital, das Kranke, Waisen, Arme und Reisende aufnimmt. Dieses Spital befand sich damals am selben Ort wie das Kloster. Am 26. und 27. August 1147 wird die Stadt vom Spital bis zur Kirche, die an demselben Ort stand wie heute, von einem Feuer verwüstet. Bis 1454 ist ein grosser Teil der Stadt neu aufgebaut, wobei ein neues Spital und eine neue Kirche entstehen.

Am 29. Juni 1665 kommen die ersten drei Kapuziner nach Bulle, ein Prior, ein Pater und ein Bruder. Sie ziehen in den Räumen des Spitals ein, das zwischen 1671 und 1679 durch ein Kloster ersetzt wird. Das Spital wird in ein anderes Gebäude verlegt, das in der Nähe der Porte d’Enhaut steht. 1679 erteilt die Freiburger Regierung den Kapuzinern die offizielle Bewilligung für ihre Niederlassung in Bulle. 1688 wird die Kapelle vergrössert. Sie wird von den Kapuzinern betreut, die auch soziale Arbeit leisten, indem sie für die Armen sorgen. Unter dem Heimatstil-Portal (1909) am Eingang ist eine wunderschöne geschnitzte Tür von 1688 zu bewundern.

1692 fertigt der Bildhauer Pierre Ardieu (1649-1735) aus Bulle mit seinen Mitarbeitern den barocken Hauptaltar mit einer von zahlreichen Statuen umgebenen Heiligen Jungfrau an. Ein Jahrhundert später verändert und ergänzt ein anderer Künstler aus der Region, Joseph Deillon (1727-1795), das Werk von Ardieu. Jahrhunderte vergehen, und die aufeinander folgenden Eigentümer (Bürgerschaft, Pfarrei und schliesslich Kapuziner) unterhalten die Kapelle, die immer wieder den Bedürfnissen entsprechend umgebaut wird. Die Fenster im Chor sind von Jean-Edward de Castella (1924) und jene im Schiff von Yoki (1965 und 1984).

Das Kloster der Kapuzinerpatres und die Kapelle von Notre-Dame de Compassion sind in der zweiten Hälfte des 17. und während des ganzen 18. Jahrhunderts ein bedeutendes Pilgerziel und tragen stark zur Entwicklung der lokalen Wirtschaft bei. Die Pilger strömen aus der ganzen Westschweiz, aus Savoyen und der Franche-Comté herbei. An manchen Festtagen mit grossen Gebetsgottesdiensten werden bis zu 1800 Pilger gezählt. Der Zustrom ist derart gross, dass ein Ordnungsdienst ins Leben gerufen wird.

Für erhörte Gebete stiften die Pilger kleine Votivtafeln, die auf den Wänden des Kirchenschiffs angebracht werden. Alle Pilger müssen essen und trinken, schlafen, Souvenirs nach Hause mitbringen, und die Kaufleute profitieren davon: Im Jahr 1722 gibt es in Bulle gegenüber der Kapelle und am Schlossgraben entlang acht Gasthöfe und Weinschenken und etwa fünfzehn kleine Läden.

Nachdem ihr Orden in Bulle mehr als drei Jahrhunderte lang tätig war, verlassen 2004 die letzten Kapuziner das Kloster wegen Nachwuchsproblemen. Da die Kapuziner nichts besitzen dürfen, ist im 20. Jahrhundert die Pfarrei von Bulle Besitzerin des Kirchenschiffs, während der Chor der Kirche und der innere Chor, der für das „private Gebet“ der Gläubigen reserviert ist, dem Heiligen Stuhl (Vatikan) und die Klosterräume dem Kanton Freiburg gehören. 2007 tritt der Kanton seinen Anteil an die Pfarrei ab. 2010 verzichtet auch der Vatikan zugunsten der Pfarrei. Die grosse Klosterbibliothek wird der Bibliothek des Kantons und der Universität einverleibt. Zahlreiche im Kloster bewahrte Objekte gehen an das Musée Gruérien.

© Musée Gruérien und Amt für Kulturgüter des Kantons Freiburg

Ebenfalls interessant
Die Kapelle, ihr Altar und die mit Votivtafeln bedeckten Wände.
Statue der Jungfrau, Sammlung von Votivtafeln und Buch der Wunder der Kapelle im Sektor „Eine Stadt im Aufschwung“ des Musée Gruérien.

Literatur
Ivan Andrey, Fin de chapitre, Bulle, 2004 (Einführung).
Jean Dubas, Notre-Dame de Compassion, un pèlerinage à Bulle, Bulle, 1984.

Legende der Archivphotos:
Bulle, Kapelle von Notre-Dame de Compassion, Kapuzinerkloster und Feuerwehrlokal (1972 abgerissen), gegen 1900
© Foto Charles Morel, Musée Gruérien


1630 Bulle

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren