Irma Dütsch

Irma Dütsch, the renowned chef and restaurateur from La Gruyère, was the first Swiss woman to be awarded a Michelin star.

It was on the family farm in La Gruyère that Irma Dütsch learnt the importance of tradition and fine produce. It was also here that the seeds of her future career were sown.

Irma Grandjean, or Nano as her father called her, was born in the Gruyère village of Estavannens. The youngest of six children, she had always been fascinated by the mysterious world of cookery. From a very early age, Irma knew she wanted to be a chef and run her own restaurant. For over 30 years she would live out this dream with her husband, Hans-Jörg Dütsch, in the "Waldhotel Fletschhorn" in Saas-Fee.

In those days it was hard for a young woman to train as a professional chef. To achieve her goal, Irma headed to Rheinfelden on the banks of the Rhine, where she would be the first Swiss woman to qualify as a professional chef. She would later go on to work in myriad kitchens both at home and abroad. Irma was also the first female chef to be awarded a Michelin star. In 1994, the Gault&Millau guide awarded her 18 out of a maximum 20 points.

Although now officially retired, this self-effacing lady is busier than ever, working as a consultant and writer. Her latest book, "Amitié gourmande", was written together with 23 friends, some of whom are also renowned chefs in their own right.

Report an error

You may also be interested in

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

Irma Dütsch

Cheffe, cuisinière de grande renommée, fribourgeoise et gruérienne avant tout. Irma Dütsch est la première femme suisse à avoir reçu une étoile au guide Michelin.

C'est ici, en Gruyère, dans la ferme familiale, qu'elle a appris l'importance des produits et de la tradition. C'est là aussi que s'est dessinée sa vocation de "cuistot".

Irma Dütsch, née Irma Grandjean à Estavannens en Gruyère et surnommée Nano par son père était la cadette de six. Jeune enfant, intriguée par les mystères de la cuisson, la petite Irma savait déjà que plus tard elle serait cuisinière et tiendrait son propre restaurant. Ce qui fut le cas pendant 30 ans avec son époux Hans-Jörg Dütsch au "Waldhotel Fletschhorn" à Saas Fee, après avoir connu maintes cuisines à travers le monde et en Suisse.

Pas facile pour une jeune femme de son époque de faire un apprentissage de cuisinière. Pour ce faire, Mlle Grandjean s'éloigna de la Région pour Rheinfelden, au bord du Rhin où elle devint la première cuisinière diplômée en Suisse. Première, elle le fut aussi en tant que femme suisse ayant une étoile au guide Michelin. En 1994, elle reçut 18 points au Gault&Millau.

Bien qu'ayant pris sa retraite de l'hôtellerie, Madame Dütsch, cette femme modeste, ne s'est pas arrêtée pour autant. Elle est aujourd'hui conseillère-consultante et écrit. Son dernier livre accessible à tous, "Amitié gourmande" a été écrit avec 23 personnalités amies.

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser