To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Hans-Ruedi Giger

1940-2014. Plastician, designer, illustrator, sculptor, graphic artist, Hans-Ruedi Giger captivates different generation of fans with pictures, sculptures of fantasy realism. He fall in love with FRIBOURG REGION and the only museum of HR Giger works in the world is located in the middle age city of Gruyères. 250 works, essentially pictures and sculptures are exposed permanently there. The museum offers as well temporary exhibitions from other creators.

The celebrity of H.R. Giger comes from the famous film Alien. He is the designer of the Alien Monster and he won the Oscar in 1980. H.R. Giger is considerated as one of the most well-known artist of the fantasy realism.

Born in 1940 in Chur, H.R. Giger is already, as a young boy, interested in fantastic and morbid creations. His resourceful imagination guides him to study architecture and industrial design in Zürich.

Later, he realised different documentaries and puted down his mutant and nightmares creatures which are made of flesh and mechanic parts. This sort of art, known as “Biomecanic” will simultaneously fascinate and insecure the public.

The Birth of „Alien“
The painter realises his phantasmagoria often with grey, blue and black colors on big screens. In the year 1976, his book “Necronomicon” steered the attention of the American cineaste Ridley Scott. It became “Alien”.

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

Hans-Ruedi Giger

1940-2014. Plasticien, graphiste, illustrateur, sculpteur, designer et surtout Fribourgeois d’adoption, Hans-Ruedi Giger enchante plusieurs générations de passionnés de constructions, peintures, sculptures du réalisme fantastique. L'unique musée H.R. Giger du monde se trouve dans la cité médiévale de Gruyères (FR). 250 travaux du Fribourgeois d’adoption sont exposés en permanence, essentiellement des toiles et des sculptures. Il propose en outre des expositions temporaires d'autres créateurs.

H.R. Giger doit beaucoup de sa renommée au film «Alien», dont il a créé le monstre et qui lui a valu un oscar en 1980. L'artiste est considéré comme l'un des plus marquants du réalisme fantastique.

Né le 5 février 1940 à Coire, H.R. Giger se passionne très tôt pour les créations fantastiques et macabres. Son imagination fertile le conduit à étudier l'architecture et le dessin industriel à Zurich, indique son site internet.

Par la suite, il réalise des courts métrages documentaires. Bientôt il couche sur le papier des créatures mutantes et cauchemardesques qui associent êtres de chair et pièces mécaniques. Cette forme d'art qu'il nomme «biomécanique» va tout à la fois fasciner et inquiéter le public.

Naissance d'«Alien»
Maître de l'aérographe, ce peintre met en scène ses fantasmagories sur de grandes toiles, souvent dans les tons gris, bleus ou noirs. En 1976, son livre «Necronomicon» attire l'attention du cinéaste américain Ridley Scott, alors en quête d'un look pour la créature monstrueuse de son prochain film. Ce sera «Alien».

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser