1. Orchestrion (1913)

The only example of its kind in the world, the Soléa is an orchestrion (mechanical orchestra) built in 1913 for the café-restaurant Le Fribourgeois by the firm Weber in Waldkirch (Germany). Demonstration on request.

The café Le Fribourgeois was designed according to plans drawn up in 1898-1899 by the architect Frédéric Broillet.

The Le Solea orchestrion was built in Waldkirch (Germany) at the Weber Frères factory. It was sold and installed in Le Fribourgeois in 1913-1914 by the firm Charrière & Cie, from Bulle, which represented various manufacturers of harmoniums, player-pianos and orchestrions in the canton. The instrument was restored in 1977–78 by Les Frères Baud in L’Auberson.

The oak cabinet measuring 4 metres long, 2.50 metres high and 1.10 metres wide houses a 52-note Feurich piano, 4 sets of 28 pipes – flutes, violin, baritone and “Gedeck”, a 28-note xylophone, a bass drum, a side drum, a tambourine, a triangle and castanets. In the bottom section, three pairs of bellows activated by an electric motor inflate two regulator reservoirs that supply the windchests. Rolls of perforated paper 36 cm wide, driven by a guide roller, are held against a metal bar commonly known as a “flat flute” with 88 apertures, each corresponding to a note or a function.

A lead pipe connects each aperture to a pneumatic relay controlling a valve that releases air into the pipes, activates or triggers the sets, controls the hammer bellows or displaces the shutters that modify the sound volume. The instrument is completed by two animated windows depicting local Gruyère landscapes: on the right, a parade crossing the Javroz iron bridge in Charmey against a sky criss-crossed by aircraft; on the left, a beautiful sunrise and sunset over the town of Gruyères.

Following the removal of orchestrions from the Le Tivoli café in Bulle and the Le Gothard café in Fribourg, the instrument is to our knowledge the last of its kind conserved in a public establishment in the canton of Fribourg. It is also probably one of the last in working order still to be found in its place of origin in Switzerland.

© Musée gruérien and Cultural Heritage Department of the canton of Fribourg
plan
Satellite

---

---

min.-°Cmax.-°C

Weather forecastfor
---
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

1. Orchestrion (1913)


1630 Bulle

Exemplaire unique au monde, le Soléa est un orchestrion (orchestre mécanique) construit en 1913 pour le café-restaurant Le Fribourgeois par la maison Weber à Waldkirch (Allemagne). Démonstration sur demande.

Le café Le Fribourgeois a été conçu sur un plan de l’architecte Frédéric Broillet, daté de 1898-1899.

L’orchestrion Le Solea a été construit à Waldkirch (D) par la fabrique Weber Frères. Il a été vendu et installé dans Le Fribourgeois en 1913-1914 par la Maison Charrière & Cie, de Bulle, représentant dans le canton de divers fabricants d’harmoniums, de pianos mécaniques et d’orchestrions. L’instrument a été restauré en 1977–78 par les Frères Baud à L’Auberson.

Dans le buffet de chêne d’une longueur de 4 m pour une hauteur de 2.50 m et une profondeur de 1.10 m, on trouve un piano Feurich de 52 notes, 4 jeux de 28 tuyaux – flûtes, violon, baryton et «Gedeck», un xylophone de 28 notes, une grosse caisse, un tambour, un tambourin, un triangle et des castagnettes. Dans les soubassements, trois soufflets actionnés par un moteur électrique remplissent d’air deux réservoirs régulateurs qui alimentent les sommiers. Des rouleaux de papier perforé d’une largeur de 36 cm, entraînés par un galet presseur sont plaqués sur une barre métallique communément désignée comme «flûte de plan» dont les 88 trous correspondent chacun à une note ou à une fonction.

Un tuyau de plomb relie chacun des trous à un relais pneumatique commandant une soupape qui libère de l’air dans les tuyaux, active ou déclenche les jeux, commande des soufflets de marteau ou déplace les jalousies qui modifient le volume sonore. L’instrument est complété par deux vitrines animées qui présentent des paysages gruériens: à droite, on voit un défilé sur le pont métallique du Javroz, à Charmey, sous un ciel traversé d’aéronefs tandis qu’à gauche on peut admirer un lever et un coucher de soleil sur la ville de Gruyères.

Suite à la disparition des orchestrions des cafés du Tivoli à Bulle et du Gothard à Fribourg, l’instrument est à notre connaissance le dernier du genre conservé dans un établissement public fribourgeois. Il doit être également l’un des derniers en état de marche encore conservé dans son lieu d’origine en Suisse.
© Musée gruérien et Service des biens culturels du canton de Fribourg

Légende de la photo d'archive
Cette prise de vue a été réalisée à l’intérieur du café Le Fribourgeois en 1913, sur commande de l’entreprise Charrière et Cie. On y voit une première version de l’orchestrion, de taille réduite, qui sera remplacée peu de temps après par l’instrument actuel.
© Alfred Husser Musée gruérien Bulle.


1630 Bulle

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser