7. Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781)

This statue by the sculptor Carl Angst inaugurated in 1933 represents Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781), from La Tour-de-Trême, who headed a popular revolt against the patrician government of Fribourg in 1781.

Just opposite the castle is one of the town’s thirty or more fountains. It is overlooked by a statue. Its subject, a man with a determined air, his fist raised in a sign of defiance, is Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux, one of the historical personalities of the La Gruyère region. Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux was born in 1740 into a well-off farming family in La Tour-de-Trême. An enterprising young man, he devoted his early years unsuccessfully to business (property, cheese, grain, mining and livestock breeding). Disappointed in his military ambitions too, he fared better at politics. His outspokenness and virulent criticisms ensured him undeniable popularity among the population.

Origins of the revolt
From 1780 to 1784, in the wake of economic, political and religious problems, the canton of Fribourg lived through a troubled period, the most spectacular manifestation of which was the Chenaux uprising (also known as the “Chenaux Revolution”) in 1781.

Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux and his followers took issue with the oligarchic government of Fribourg for revoking around thirty religious festivals, abolishing the convent of La Valsainte and planning the introduction of new taxes. Chenaux promised his accomplices that their debts would be wiped out, that an agrarian law would be passed, and that farmers would be granted free ownership of the land they held under lease.

Thus it was that on 29 April 1781, Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux headed a small band of men under the command of officers. Gathered in Bulle at the Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée (today the Hôtel du Cheval Blanc), Chenaux plotted a revolt and planned to take Fribourg by surprise. The date chosen was initially Saint-Jean (24 June), later brought forward to the festival of 3 May. However the Fribourg government, already alerted by similar cases elsewhere, was prepared. Forewarned of the plot, it ordered the arrest of Chenaux; however the latter, assisted by his informers, managed to escape the government’s clutches.

At the heart of the uprising
On 1st May 1781, Chenaux heard that Fribourg had put a price on his head. Instead of hiding or running away, he took the initiative, harangued the population and, on 2 May, made his way to the Fribourg capital. On 3 May the gates of the town stayed closed and bargaining took place; the assailants took this opportunity to rally two to three thousand country folk to their cause, while the besieged population started to panic and sent word to Bern for assistance. Fearing that the Fribourg uprising would give ideas to their French-speaking bailiffs, the authorities in Bern lost no time in sending their troops to assist their neighbour. Fribourg was therefore well prepared to face poorly armed and insufficiently organised farmers.

On 4 May 1781, the native of Vaud Benjamin Louis Monod de Froideville, a former Prussian officer in command of government troops, easily obtained the surrender of several hundred men. During the night of 4/5 May, after retreating to a wooded area, Chenaux was seized by one of his own men, tempted by the large reward promised for his capture. A fight broke out, as a result of which Chenaux was killed. His body was taken to the town of Fribourg, where he was publicly decapitated and dismembered.

Shortly afterwards, the people flocked to his grave and declared him “Saint Nicolas Chenaux, Martyr of Freedom”. This somewhat rapid and spontaneous canonisation provoked the ire of the Church and was sharply condemned. Moreover, government repression against the rebels became extremely severe; prison sentences, orders to be sent to the galleys, banishments and fines were the lot of most insurgents.

At a political level the Fribourg authorities, encouraged by Bern, Lucerne and Soleure, opted for appeasement. Parishes and communities were invited to express their wishes in writing. None of the proposals emanating from the countryside contested the institution of the patriciate per se, but some requested a lightening of the tax burden and restoration of the recently abolished religious festivals and processions. However, the common bourgeoisie of the capital, through clever and insistent manoeuvrings, made it known that it aspired to an improved distribution of power with the privileged bourgeoisie. The conflict intensified; it came to a head in 1783 with the forced exile of their main representatives. The latter therefore joined survivors of the call to arms of 1781 abroad. Some welcomed the French Revolution of 1789 and returned to the country in 1798.

A victim of the infamous procedure of “damnatio memoriae” (banishment from memory), recollections of Chenaux gradually faded. It was not until 1848 that the radical political wing rehabilitated him officially. In 1933, this monumental statue was erected in Bulle, on the Market Square, in honour of the “Defender of the people’s freedoms”.

The day after Chenaux’s death, to bolster its repression, the Fribourg government ordered the sign of the Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée, the former headquarters of Chenaux, to be taken down and burnt on the public square, in order to discourage once and for all the most virulent enemies of Fribourg. Even though its visible manifestation disappeared, the ideology and spirit of opposition remained. And it did not stop the inhabitants of Bulle from reopening the establishment under a new name, the Cheval-Blanc, nor from adorning the new sign with a sword crowned with laurel leaves pointing towards Fribourg, in memory of the events of 1781.

Many of Chenaux’s allies exiled in France continued to oppose the Ancien Régime in their capacity as members of the Club Helvétique in Paris (1790-1791). One of the aims of that society, namely to carry revolution to the Swiss cantons, was successful in 1798 with the invasion of the country by the French Army and the creation of a Swiss Republic founded on the new ideals of individual freedom and equality, centralised on the French model.

© Musée gruérien

Carl Albert Angst
Carl Albert Angst (1875-1965), from Geneva, was the son of a cabinetmaker. He was a skilled engraver and sculptor of wood (including Art Nouveau furniture) in Paris from 1896 to 1911, firstly with Jean-Auguste Dampt and then as a self-employed tradesman from 1903. Throughout this time he drew and sculpted, mainly portraits of children. He won a prize for a planned Swiss national monument on the theme “The Age of Heroes” in 1909. A teacher at the School of Industrial Arts of Geneva (1911-1913) and a member of the Federal Commission of Fine Arts (1916-1918, 1927-1930), he produced sculptures for public squares, as well as busts and medallions (Barthélemy Menn, Ferdinand Hodler), the frame of the station clock in Lausanne, and the symbol of Justice for the frontispiece of the Federal Court and three of its portal adornments. Carl Albert Angst sometimes drew inspiration from Greek and Egyptian art. He was influenced greatly by Auguste Rodin, with whom he shared a taste for psychological symbols and allusions. A large number of his works disappeared when a warehouse owned by the Museum of Art and History in Geneva caught fire in 1987.

© Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse

Find out more
Georges Andrey, “Le monument Chenaux, la fête, le symbole”, in La Fête, Cahiers du Musée gruérien, n°1, 1997.
Georges Andrey, “La révolution Chenaux”, in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.
Alain-Jacques Tornare, “Révolution française et Contre-révolution. Impacts en Gruyère (1781-1815)”, in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.

Also of interest
The sign of the Hôtel du Cheval Blanc, formerly the Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée, the headquarters of Chenaux.
Models of the statue and the “urn containing the skull of Nicolas Chenaux”, in the section “Contours in motion” of the permanent exhibition La Gruyère, footprints and detours, at the Musée gruérien.




Weather forecastfor

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

7. Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781)


1630 Bulle

Cette statue du sculpteur Carl Angst a été inaugurée en 1933. Elle représente Nicolas Chenaux (1740-1781), de La Tour-de-Trême, chef d’une révolte populaire contre le gouvernement patricien de Fribourg en 1781.

Juste en face du château se trouve une des nombreuses fontaines de la ville, qui en compte une trentaine. Elle est surplombée par une statue. Cet homme au regard déterminé, le poing levé en signe de défi, est Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux, une des personnalités historiques de la Gruyère. Issu d’une famille paysanne aisée, Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux est né en 1740 à la Tour-de-Trême. Entreprenant, il se voue sans succès aux affaires (immobilier, fromage, grains, mines et élevage). Déçu également dans ses ambitions militaires, il réussit mieux en politique. Son franc-parler et ses virulentes critiques lui assurent une indéniable popularité auprès de la population.

Origines de la révolte
De 1780 à 1784, à la suite de problèmes économiques, politiques et religieux, le canton de Fribourg connait une période troublée dont le soulèvement Chenaux (dit aussi «Révolution Chenaux»), en 1781, constitue l’épisode le plus spectaculaire.

Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux et ses partisans reprochent au gouvernement oligarchique de Fribourg d’avoir aboli une trentaine de fêtes religieuses, d’avoir supprimé le couvent de la Valsainte et de projeter la mise en place de nouveaux impôts. Chenaux promet à ses affidés que leurs dettes seront effacées, qu’une loi agraire sera prononcée et que les fermiers pourront avoir la libre propriété des terres qu’ils détiennent par bail.

Ainsi, le 29 avril 1781, Pierre-Nicolas Chenaux dirige un petit groupe d’hommes encadré par des officiers. Réunis à Bulle à l’Auberge de l’Épée couronnée (aujourd’hui l’Hôtel du Cheval Blanc), Chenaux planifie une révolte et prévoit de prendre Fribourg par surprise. La date prévue est d’abord la Saint-Jean (24 juin), puis la foire du 3 mai. Mais le gouvernement fribourgeois, déjà sur ses gardes à cause de cas similaire, veille. Averti du projet de Chenaux, le gouvernement ordonne son arrestation mais Chenaux, avec la complicité de ses informateurs, parvient à esquiver le coup.

Au cœur du soulèvement
Le 1er mai 1781, Chenaux entend que Fribourg a mis sa tête à prix. Loin de se cacher ou de fuir, il prend l’initiative, harangue la population et, dès le 2 mai, se dirige vers la capitale fribourgeoise. Le 3 mai, les portes de la ville restant closes, des tractations naissent; les assaillants les mettent à profit pour rallier de deux à trois mille campagnards à leur cause, tandis que les assiégés, paniqués, appellent Berne à l’aide. Craignant que le soulèvement fribourgeois ne donne des idées à leurs baillages romands, les autorités bernoises envoient sans perdre de temps leurs troupes au secours de leur voisin. Fribourg est ainsi prêt pour recevoir des paysans mal armés et insuffisamment organisés.

Le 4 mai 1781, le Vaudois Benjamin Louis Monod de Froideville, ancien officier au service de Prusse et responsable des troupes gouvernementales, obtient sans peine la reddition de quelques centaines d’hommes. Dans la nuit du 4 au 5 mai, Chenaux, qui s’est replié dans un bois, est interpellé par l’un des siens, appâté par la forte récompense promise à qui le livrerait. Un duel s’engage à l’issue duquel Chenaux perd la vie. Son corps est amené en ville de Fribourg, où il est publiquement décapité et démembré.

Conséquences
Peu de temps après, le peuple se recueille sur sa tombe et invoque «Saint Nicolas Chenaux, martyr de la liberté». Cette canonisation quelque peu rapide et spontanée provoque l’ire de l’Église et est sévèrement condamnée. De plus, la répression du gouvernement contre les révoltés devient extrêmement stricte; les peines de prison, les condamnations aux galères, les bannissements et les amendes sont le lot de la plupart des insurgés.

Sur le plan politique, les autorités fribourgeoises, encouragées par Berne, Lucerne et Soleure, optent pour l’apaisement. Les paroisses et les communautés sont invitées à exprimer par écrit leurs souhaits. De ceux qui émanent de la campagne, aucun ne conteste l’institution même du patriciat, mais plusieurs sollicitent des allégements fiscaux ainsi que le rétablissement des fêtes religieuses et processions récemment supprimées. En revanche, la bourgeoisie commune de la capitale, par d’habiles et insistantes démarches, fait savoir qu’elle aspire à une meilleure répartition du pouvoir avec la bourgeoisie privilégiée. Le conflit s’exacerbe; il s’achève en 1783 par l’exil forcé de ses principaux représentants. Ces derniers rejoignent ainsi à l’étranger les rescapés de la prise d’armes de 1781. Les uns et les autres salueront la Révolution Française de 1789 et rentreront au pays en 1798. Victime de la procédure infamante de «damnatio memoriae» (bannissement de la mémoire), le souvenir de Chenaux s’estompe peu à peu. Il faut attendre l’année 1848 pour que le régime politique radical le réhabilite officiellement. En 1933, cette statue monumentale est érigée à Bulle, sur la Place du Marché, en l’honneur du «Défenseur des libertés du peuple».

Au lendemain de la mort de Chenaux et pour appuyer sa répression, le gouvernement fribourgeois ordonne que l’enseigne de l’Auberge de l’Épée Couronnée, l’ancien quartier général de Chenaux, soit démontée et brûlée sur la place publique, afin de décourager définitivement les plus virulents ennemis de Fribourg. Même si la matière a disparu, l’idéologie et l’esprit de la contestation demeurent. Et cela n’empêche pas les Bullois de rouvrir l’établissement sous l’emblème du Cheval-Blanc ainsi que d’accrocher à la nouvelle enseigne, en mémoire des événements de 1781, l’épée couronnée de lauriers pointant en direction de Fribourg.

De nombreux alliés de Chenaux exilés en France poursuivent leur contestation de l’Ancien Régime au sein du Club helvétique de Paris (1790-1791). Un des objectifs de cette société, qui est d’importer la révolution dans les cantons suisses, aboutit en 1798 avec l’invasion du pays par l’armée française et la création d’une République Helvétique fondée sur les idéaux nouveaux de liberté individuelle et d’égalité, centralisée sur le modèle français. © Musée gruérien

Carl Albert Angst
Carl Albert Angst (1875-1965) de Genève, est le fils d'un ébéniste. Il exerce le métier de xylograveur et de sculpteur sur bois (meubles Art nouveau entre autres) à Paris de 1896 à 1911, d'abord chez Jean-Auguste Dampt, puis comme indépendant dès 1903, tout en dessinant et sculptant, surtout des portraits d'enfants. Il obtient un prix pour le projet d'un monument national suisse sur le thème «l'âge des héros» en 1909. Professeur à l'école des arts industriels de Genève (1911-1913) et membre de la Commission fédérale des beaux-arts (1916-1918, 1927-1930), il est l’auteur de sculptures pour des places publiques, de portraits en buste et de médaillons (Barthélemy Menn, Ferdinand Hodler), de l'encadrement de l'horloge de la gare de Lausanne, de la Justice du frontispice et de trois couronnements de portail pour le Tribunal fédéral. Carl Albert Angst s'inspire parfois de l'art grec et égyptien. Il est très influencé par Auguste Rodin, dont il partage le goût pour les symboles et les allusions psychologiques. Un grand nombre de ses œuvres disparaissent lors de l’incendie d’un dépôt du Musée d'art et d'histoire de Genève en 1987.
© Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse

Pour en savoir plus
Georges Andrey, «Le monument Chenaux, la fête, le symbole», in La Fête, Cahiers du Musée gruérien, n°1, 1997.
Georges Andrey, «La révolution Chenaux», in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.
Alain-Jacques Tornare, «Révolution française et Contre-révolution. Impacts en Gruyère (1781-1815)», in Pouvoirs et territoires, La Gruyère dans le miroir de son patrimoine, T. 3, Editions Alphil, 2011.

A voir aussi
L’enseigne de l’Hôtel du Cheval Blanc, anciennement Auberge de l’Épée couronnée, le quartier général de Chenaux.
Les maquettes de la statue et l’«urne contenant le crâne de Nicolas Chenaux», dans le secteur «Des contours en mouvement» de l’exposition permanente La Gruyère, itinéraires et empreintes, au Musée gruérien.

Légende de la photo:
L’inauguration du monument Chenaux, en 1933. Sur la gauche avec le chapeau melon, Jean-Marie Musy, premier conseiller fédéral fribourgeois de 1919 à 1934. © Photo Glasson Musée gruérien


1630 Bulle

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser