10. Notre-Dame de Compassion (1688)

Destination of many pilgrims in the 17th and 18th centuries, the Church of Notre-Dame de Compassion was founded in 1350 and converted in 1688-1692. It was served by Capuchin monks from 1665 to 2004.

From 1350, Bulle boasted a hospital which offered refuge to the sick, the poor, orphans and travellers. The hospital was located on the same site as the monastery. On 26 and 27 August 1447, a fire laid waste to the town, from the hospital to the church which stood on the same spot as today. A good part of the town was rebuilt in 1454. A new hospital and a new church were erected.

The 29th June 1665 saw the arrival of the first three Capuchin monks: a superior, a father and a brother. They took up residence in the rooms of the hospital, which was replaced between 1671 and 1679 by a monastery. The hospital was relocated to a building situated near the Porte d’Enhaut. In 1679, the Fribourg government officially gave permission for the Capuchin monks to remain in Bulle. The church was enlarged in 1688. It was attended by the Capuchins, who also served the community by taking in the poor. In the entrance, under the Heimatstil porch (1909) visitors can admire a magnificent sculpted gate which also dates from 1688.

In 1692 the sculptor from Bulle Pierre Ardieu (1649-1735), with his collaborators, finished the Baroque style main altar, which includes a multitude of statues surrounding the Blessed Virgin. A century later, another artist from the region, Joseph Deillon (1727-1795), modified and added to the work of Ardieu. Over the centuries, successive occupants (burghers, parishioners and Capuchin monks) maintained the church, which underwent different conversions as the need arose. The stained-glass windows of the choir are by Jean-Edward de Castella (1924) and those in the nave are by Yoki (1965 and 1984).

The monastery of the Capuchin Fathers and the Church of Notre Dame de Compassion were an important destination for pilgrims in the second half of the 17th century and throughout the 18th century, and this contributed greatly to development of the local economy. Pilgrims flocked from all corners of French-speaking Switzerland, Savoy and Franche-Comté. On important religious days and during some festivals, as many as 1800 pilgrims would be present. Crowds were so great that services were established for different orders.

In response to prayers answered, pilgrims made votive offerings, namely small pictures covering the walls of the nave. All of the pilgrims needed to eat, drink and sleep, and take back souvenirs, and shopkeepers made the most of this: in 1722, there were eight inns and wine-sellers, as well as around fifteen shops situated opposite the church and around the castle moat.

While their order had been present in Bulle for more than three centuries, the last Capuchins left the monastery in 2004 due to recruitment difficulties. Since Capuchin monks may not own property, in the 20th century the nave of the church became the property of the parish of Bulle, while ownership of the choir of the church, and the inner choir reserved for “private” prayer by devotees, passed to the Holy See (Vatican), and the monastic part to the State of Fribourg. In 2007, the State of Fribourg ceded its title to the parish. The Vatican did likewise in 2010. The monastery’s’ important library joined the collection of the Cantonal and University Library of Fribourg. Numerous objects saved from the monastery are held by the Musée gruérien.

© Musée gruérien and Cultural Heritage Department of the canton of Fribourg

Also of interest
The church, its altar and votive offerings attached to the walls of the sanctuary.
Statue of the Blessed Virgin, collection of votive offerings and book of miracles from the church in the section “A living town” of the Musée gruérien.

Find out more
Ivan Andrey, Fin de chapitre, Bulle, 2004 (introduction).
Jean Dubas, Notre-Dame de Compassion, un pèlerinage à Bulle, Bulle, 1984.
plan
Satellite

---

---

min.-°Cmax.-°C

Weather forecastfor
---
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

10. Notre-Dame de Compassion (1688)


1630 Bulle

But d’un pèlerinage très fréquenté aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, la chapelle de Notre-Dame de Compassion est fondée en 1350 et transformée en 1688-1692. Elle fut desservie par les moines capucins de 1665 à 2004.

Dès 1350 Bulle est dotée d’un hôpital destiné à recevoir les malades, les orphelins, les pauvres et les voyageurs. Cet hôpital était situé au lieu même où se trouve le couvent. Les 26 et 27 août 1447, un incendie dévaste la ville, de l’hôpital à l’église qui se trouvait au même endroit qu’aujourd’hui. Une bonne partie de la ville est reconstruite en 1454. On bâtit un nouvel hôpital et une nouvelle église.

Le 29 juin 1665 c’est l’arrivée à Bulle des 3 premiers capucins, un supérieur, un père et un frère. Ils s’installent dans les locaux de l’hôpital qui est remplacé entre 1671 et 1679 par un couvent. L’hôpital est déplacé dans un bâtiment situé à proximité de la Porte d’Enhaut. En 1679 le gouvernement fribourgeois autorise officiellement les capucins à rester à Bulle. La chapelle est agrandie en 1688. Elle est desservie par les capucins qui font également œuvre sociale en accueillant les pauvres. A l’entrée, sous le porche Heimatstil (1909) on peut admirer une magnifique porte sculptée également datée de 1688.

En 1692 le sculpteur bullois Pierre Ardieu (1649-1735) termine avec ses collaborateurs le maître autel de style baroque, qui comprend une multitude de statues entourant la Sainte Vierge. Un siècle plus tard, un autre artiste de la région, Joseph Deillon (1727-1795), modifie et complète l’œuvre d’Ardieu. Les siècles passent et les propriétaires successifs (bourgeoisie, paroisse puis capucins) entretiennent la chapelle qui connait différentes transformations selon les besoins. Les vitraux du chœur sont de Jean-Edward de Castella (1924) et ceux de la nef de Yoki (1965 et 1984).

Le couvent des Pères Capucins ainsi que la chapelle de Notre Dame de Compassion sont dans la deuxième moitié du XVIIe et tout au long du XVIIIe siècle un important lieu de pèlerinage qui contribue fortement au développement de l’économie locale. Les pèlerins affluent de toute la Suisse romande, de Savoie et de Franche-Comté. Les jours de grande dévotion, lors de certaines fêtes, on peut compter jusqu’à 1800 pèlerins. L’affluence est telle qu’un service d’ordre est mis sur pied.

Pour des vœux exaucés, on offre de petits tableaux qui tapissent les murs de la nef, les ex-votos. Tous les pèlerins doivent manger, boire, dormir, rapporter des souvenirs, et les commerçants en profitent: en 1722, on compte huit auberges et débits de vin, ainsi qu’une quinzaine de boutiques situées en face de la chapelle et en bordure des fossés du château.

Alors que leur ordre était présent à Bulle depuis plus de trois siècles, les derniers capucins quittent le couvent en 2004 en raison de difficultés de recrutement. Comme les capucins ne peuvent pas posséder de biens propres, au XXe siècle, la nef de l’église est propriété de la paroisse de Bulle, tandis que le chœur de l’église et le chœur intérieur réservé à la prière «privée» des religieux appartiennent au Saint-Siège (Vatican) et la partie conventuelle à l’Etat de Fribourg. En 2007, l’Etat de Fribourg cède sa part à la paroisse. Le Vatican fait de même en 2010. L’importante bibliothèque du couvent rejoint les fonds de la Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire à Fribourg. De nombreux objets conservés au couvent sont déposés au Musée gruérien.
© Musée gruérien et Service des biens culturels du canton de Fribourg

A voir aussi
La chapelle, son autel et les ex-votos accrochés aux parois du sanctuaire.
Statue de la vierge, collection d’ex-votos et livre des miracles de la chapelle dans le secteur «Une ville dans son élan» du Musée gruérien.

Pour en savoir plus
Ivan Andrey, Fin de chapitre, Bulle, 2004 (introduction). Jean Dubas, Notre-Dame de Compassion, un pèlerinage à Bulle, Bulle, 1984.

Légende de la photo d'archive:
Bulle, chapelle de Notre-Dame de Compassion, couvent des Capucins et local des pompiers (démoli en 1972), vers 1900
© Photo Charles Morel Musée gruérien


1630 Bulle

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser